Auto Save

​​​​Help protect your files in case of a crash

Crashes happen. The power goes out. And sometimes, people accidentally close a file without saving. To avoid losing all your work when stuff like that happens, make sure AutoSave are turned on.

  1. Click File > Options >General Settings >General Options.

  2. Make sure the Autosave a copy every x minutes box is selected.

autosave.png

 
Important:  The Save button is still your best friend. To be sure you don’t lose your latest work, click Save Button image (or press Ctrl+S) often.

Tips

To be extra safe, enter a small number in the minutes box, like 10. That way, you’ll never lose more than 10 minutes of work.

On the other hand, if you want to make application faster, try entering a larger number in the minutes box, like 20.​

Recover last project file

Important: In addition to saving regularly, ensuring that Autosave a copy is turned on is a critical part of protecting your work.

 If you’ve saved the file

If you were working on a file and saving regularly when the file was closed unexpectedly, you can restore the last version that was saved.

  1. Open the file you were working on.

  2. Click File > Open >Open Unsaved Project

recover last file.jpg
 
Learn more:
SaveSave AsSave messages
Applies to version 2015 and higher.
Project Plan 365 for:
Win PC/ServerMac
Project Viewer for: